• https://www.vafa.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/JSJ_7912.jpg

Joined VAFA: 1983

Section: Premier C

Current years in section: 5

Nickname: The CY’s

Ground: Fearon Reserve, Osborne Street, Williamstown. (*56 B10).

Under 19/Club XVIII/Thirds: Fearon Reserve, Osborne Street, Williamstown. (*56 B10).

Colours: Royal blue with gold hoops & emblem/ – white number; shorts – royal blues; socks – royal blue & gold hoops.

Secretary: Terri Anne Joy 0403 010 443 [email protected]

President: Steph Payne M: 0488 199 329 E: [email protected] Mark Ritchie M: 0458 644 469 E: [email protected]rds.com.au

Established in 1886 Williamstown CYMS are one of Australia’s oldest sporting clubs, however the club only joined the VAFA in 1984. It was as good a start as you could hope for as the CY’s won the F Section premiership in their first year. Despite this sensational start, it was a long time before Williamstown CYMS would next sip from the premiership cup at senior level. In between times, Williamstown still climbed the sections, albeit through five runners up finishes. A 24 year senior premiership drought was finally ended in 2008 when after the club had been relegated to Division 3, they bounced back to immediately win the flag. Not satisfied with this the CY’s won the following year in Division 2 to go back to back. Their climb up the table has been consistent ever since and their 2014 Division 1 triumph against a Therry Penola outfit that didn’t drop a game in the home and away was the CY’s greatest success to date. The CY’s have been fantastic citizens of the Association, regularly fielding teams at U19 and U18 level. In 2018, they fielded their first women’s side, with Georgina Petty taking out the Division 2 Best & Fairest in her first year. The VAFA’s and now AFL’s Umpire Appreciation Day/Round was an initiative began at the CY’s home, the Fearon.


Seniors Reserves Thirds U19s
4 3 1
Division 1: 2014  Premier C: 2017
Division 2: 2009
Division 3/F Section: 1984, 2008


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior Men’s

Premier C – L Zachariah – 1

D Section / Division 1 – LS Pepper Medal – 1

F Section / Division 3 – J Fullerton Medal – 2

F Section – OJ Meehan Medal – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2018 Yuma Hemphill Premier C 22
2014 Jack Gray Division 1 22
2000 D.J. Williams Division 3
1988 M. Canon Division 3
1984 A.G. Elliot Division 3

Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior Women’s

Division 2 – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2018 Georgina Petty Division 2 18