CY’s unrivalled, Eagles swoop Nodders

Posted on - Latest News, Premier C Men's, Featured

Jake Morris

Williamstown CYMS kept their unbeaten streak intact as they dismantled Ormond in our Premier C top-of-the-table clash by 104 points. Lachlan Fairley (4) and Ben Gray (3) led a string of 10 different Seagulls to get on the scoresheet, while Sam Callard was named best afield. Ethan Hanley was named the Monders best as they were held scoreless after half-time, thoroughly outclassed by the premier side in the competition.

There was a boilover at Marcellin College as Marcellin shocked Mazenod by 56 points to keep their faint finals hopes alive. James Baxter’s seven-goal haul was the story of the afternoon, with the Eagles veteran piling on a career high in the victory. Matt Tighello was named the Nodders best who, with the loss, tumble out of the four.

Ending their four-game skid was Hampton Rovers as they cruised past a wayward Old Camberwell by 24 points at Boss James Reserve. James Prosser and Daniel Corp collected the votes while Oscar Roberts kicked two in their side’s fifth win on the year. Simon Bennett was the Wellers’ best in their third consecutive game scoring under 40pts.

Moving into the top-four for the first time all season was Ajax as they defeated Old Ivanhoe by 79 points. Three majors from Alex Wollan, Jake Lew and Jordan Cohen helped lift the Jackas’ to their biggest scoring total on the year. Luke Scuderi was named the Hoers’ best with four goals in what was their largest defeat of the season.

Keeping their finals hopes alive in Round 15 was Old Mentonians as they downed 10th placed PEGS by 70 points. Sam Roberts was named best afield with three majors for the inaccurate Panthers, who allowed some valuable percentage points slip by the wayside with their 17.26 total. Jarryd Rogers booted five for the Bombers who will now officially compete in Division 1 in 2020.