Four crowned their Division’s best & fairest

Posted on - Latest News, Division 1 Men's, Division 2 Men's, Division 3 Men's, Division 4 Men's, Featured

Congratulations to the four 2016 Division section best and fairest award winners who were announced live and exclusively on 96.5 Inner FM last night.

Brent Christie (Eley Park Sharks), Julius Waras Carstensen (Glen Eira), Glenn Costas (St John’s) and Daniel Maitland (Old Mentonians) were deserved winners following outstanding seasons in their respective sections.

While Waras Carstensen, Costas and Maitland had their counts wrapped up prior to the final round, the anticipation peaked at the start of the broadcast as Christie came from one vote down with two rounds remaining to poll and single and a two while Tim Rogers of Westbourne Grammarians failed to garner a vote after leading for the majority of the count.

Waras Carstensen, Costas and Maitland will all attempt to double up this weekend when they take the field in their section’s grand final.

The vote counts for Unders, Premier C and B will take place tonight from 8pm. Listen live at 96.5 Inner FM or follow the VAFA blog on the home page for live updates. Remember to join the conversation by tweeting #VAFAMedals

Full vote tallies will be released in the coming days.

Division 1

Player Name Club Total
Daniel Maitland Old Mentonians 24
Sean Miller Old Paradians 23
Bradley Jones PEGS 19


Division 2

Player Name Club Total
Glenn Costas St Johns 25
Ryan Pollard Yarra Valley 15
Sean Calcedo Preston Bullants 14


Division 3

Player Name Club Total
Julius Waras Carstensen Glen Eira 29
Steve Clarke South Melbourne 21
Shane McLaren Parkside 19


Division 4

Player Name Club Total
Brent Christie Eley Park 17
Timothy Rogers Westbourne Grammar 15
Adam Pianto Manningham Cobra 14