Krushers enter four, Lions secure finals

Posted on - Latest News, Division 1, Featured

Hampton Rovers went one step closer to securing the minor premiership with a nine-point victory over Prahran Assumption at Boss James Reserve. Trailing by one point at the last break, the Rovers kicked the only goal of the final term to edge past the Two Blues. Benjamin Kneebush and Liam McCartney impressed for the Rovers while Jack Matherson kicked three of the Two Blues’ six goals.

Oakleigh worked their way into the top four with a 46-point win over Kew at Victoria Park. The Krushers kicked four goals to one in the opening term and maintained a healthy lead before flying home with six goals to two. Aaron Cloke edged closer to the magical ton with four goals taking his season tally to 93, while Jack Sellen was best afield. Billy Shute top-scored for the Bears with three goals and wordsmith Brin Duggan was their best player.

Therry Penola officially secured themselves a finals berth with a 61-point win over Preston Bullants. Six goals from Jarrod Bannister led the Lions to the comfortable victory alongside a BOG performance and two majors from Liam Flanagan. Sean Calcedo continued his own outstanding form with three goals for the Bullants. The Lions sit third and two games above those outside the four, while the Bullants are sixth and unable to make finals as they are two games outside the four.

Ormond proved far too strong for Brunswick NOBS as they ran out 136-point winners at Gillon Oval. The Monders hit the scoreboard 40 times and kept NOBS goalless for the duration of the game. Jeremy Simon, Zev Aron and Luke Duthie shared the goals with four each for the Monders while Jack McCartney was BOG. Despite being unable to register a goal, William Mott and Lewis White fought bravely for NOBS.

West Brunswick ended a six-game losing streak with a comprehensive 111-point victory over Ivanhoe at Ivanhoe Park. 11 players shared the goals for the Westies, but Jethro Calma-Holt and Patrick Carroll led the way with four goals each. Cormac Cashin was best afield for the fifth time this year. Lachlan Roberts was a standout for Ivanhoe with four of his side’s eight goals.