VAFA officially opens 2016 at Sportscover Season Launch

Posted on - Latest News, Featured

The 2016 VAFA season officially commenced last night with the VAFA Sportscover Season Launch at the Melbourne Cricket Ground Member’s Dining Room.

More than 300 attendees watched on as nine VAFA members received their Certificate of Merit (see list of recipients below) for the years of dedication they have volunteered to their Club and the Association.

University Blues and Caulfield Grammarians stalwart, John Kanis, spoke on behalf of all recipients and detailed his 35-year career as a player, captain, coach, manager and commentator of the Association.

Hosted by VAFA CEO, Michael Sholly, guests included AFL General Manager of Football Operations and guest speaker, Mark Evans, Shadow Minister for Sport, Damian Drum, Bayside City Council Mayor, James Long, among a host of fellow special guests, VAFA sponsors, Board and Club Members.

VAFA President, Tim Nelson, gave an update on the Sportscover Arena and Elsternwick Park redevelopment and how vital improved facilities is to the home of Amateur football and development of the Association as a whole.

Highlighting the night’s proceedings was the speech given by Evans as he engaged the large crowd with his take on the state of community football and Club loyalty, as well as providing detailed insight into his time with the Hawthorn Football Club.

VAFA Life Member, Bruce McTaggart, presented major sponsor, Sportscover, with a gift as we commemorate our 25-year partnership in 2016. The VAFA values its longstanding partnership with Sportscover and looks forward to many more years together.

Earlier in the night, the VAFA recognised former Board Member, Justin Toohey, and presented him with a gift upon his retirement from the Board. Justin has long been an integral member of the VAFA community as he oversaw Tribunal and Investigations during his tenure on the Board.

Certificate of Merit Recipients:

  • Bruce Garner (Oakleigh AFC)
  • Sam Ingram (Old Mentonians)
  • John Kanis (Caulfield Grammarians, University Blues, VAFA)
  • Peter Keogh (University Blacks & VAFAUA)
  • James Maloney (Monash Blues)
  • Tony McInerney (University Blues)
  • Francis Romano (South Melbourne Districts)
  • Ian Wheeler (St Bernard’s)
  • Ray Wood (Ormond)

The VAFA thanks all who attended last night’s Season Launch and looks forward to the season ahead.