2022 William Buck Premier Men’s Team of the Year

Posted on - Latest News, Premier Men's, Featured

The VAFA would like to congratulate the following 22 players named in the William Buck Premier Men‘s Team of the Year in 2022.

Through the eyes of VAFA Media, and the VAFA selection committee the 22 named have achieved extraordinary feats in 2022. Each individual taking their game to new heights.

This year’s dual Woodrow Medal winners, Harry Hill and Fergus Borthwick are captain and vice-captain of the side. Sam Grimley (56 goals) has earned the spot at full forward, while Collegians power forward Dave Mirra (50 goals) is the twin-tower at centre half-forward.

A total of eight players have followed on their form from 2021 to earn back to back selection – Harry Hill (OB), Gus Borthwick (OM), Marcus Stavrou (OX), Dave Mirra (Coll), Conor Ross (St K), Josh Freezer (OM), Nick De Steiger (OM), Dan Robinson (OX).

For Borthwick and Stavrou this is their third straight selection. Hill has earned his fourth consecutive selection, each year Old Brighton have been in the Premier section since 2017.

Nick De Steiger, the power ruckman from Old Melburnians, it’s his fourth time earning honours in the side – 2016, 2017, 2021 and 2022.

Josh Freezer, it’s an incredible fifth time he’s been selected in the backline of the team of the year. The captain of Old Melburnians caps off a stellar individual season.

While in his first year as coach, guiding St Kevin’s to their third Premiership in four seasons, Anthony Lynch is the coach of the year.

The selection process for all sections changed this year with coaches given the opportunity to nominate their own players for consideration while also choosing players from opposition teams. This, in conjunction with scribe and VAFA Media nominations, formed a more rounded selection committee.

Coach Anthony Lynch (St Kevins)
FB Oscar Roberts (Caulfield) Marty Gleeson (Uni Blues) Conor Ross (St Kevins)
HB Sam Sofrinidis (Collegians) Josh Freezer (Old Melburnians Arion Richter-Salter (Old Scotch)
C Tom Jok (St Kevins) Gus Borthwick (Old Melburnians) VC  Dan Robinson (Old Xaverians)
HF Harry Hill (Old Brighton) C Dave Mirra (Collegians) Jack Ellwood (Caulfield)
FF Tyler Sellers (Old Scotch) Sam Grimley (Uni Blues) Charlie MacIsaac (Old Xaverians)
RUCK Harry Thompson (Old Trinity) Kenny Ong (Collegians) Marcus Stavrou (Old Xaverians)
I/C Nick De Steiger (Old Melburnians) Luke Winter (St Kevins) Matt Warren (Collegians)
Jordan Farrell (St Bernards)