• https://www.vafa.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/130914VAFA_D2GF-112ed.jpg

Joined VAFA: 1974

Section: Division 1

Current years in section: 5

Nickname: Lions

Ground: Oval 2, John Pascoe Fawkner Reserve, Francis Street, Oak Park. (*16 F6). 9304 1196.

Under 19/Thirds/Women’s: As above.

Colours: Burgundy with navy & gold V, gold emblem/ navy panel – gold number; shorts – burgundy; socks – burgundy.

Secretary: David Lyons 0409 973 752 [email protected]

President: Rodney Moran 0412 582 985 [email protected]

Therry Penola originally commenced in the VAFA in 1974 as Glenroy Amateur Football Club. By the 1978 season the club had aligned itself with Therry College, and adopted the name of Therry Corpus Christ Old Boys. By 1994 Therry College ceased to exist and had merged with another school to form Penola Catholic College, but it took until 1997 for a final name change to Therry Penola took place. Afer finishing runner up in F Section in 1981, Therry broke through for their first senior premiership the next year, the E Section decider against Banyule. A second premiership in 1984 in D Section, followed by a runner up finish in 1985 meant the Lions had climbed four sections in five years. A further runner up finish in B Section in 1989 meant that Therry were now in A Section. Two fifth placed finishes before being relegated was the result before they bounced back via another runners-up position in B Section had them back for just one more season. The club slowly slipped to Division 2, albeit they collected another C Section premiership in 2000 before the slide. By the end of the first decade of the 21st Century, Therry Penola were ready to climb again. The arrival of club legend and 300 Game Club member Denis Castaldi as senior coach in 2013 brought immediate success. The Division 2 premiership was followed by an unbeaten home and away season in 2014, before going down to Williamstown CYMS twice in the finals. In 2017, the Lions fielded a team in Development Division 3 of the inaugural season of VAFA Women’s and won their inaugural flag in 2019 in Division 2.


Senior Men’s
Reserves Thirds U19s
4 1 8 2
Premier C / C Section: 2000 Division 2: 2019
Division 1 / D Section: 1984
Division 2 / E Section: 1982, 2013  2013

Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior

A Section / Premier – JN Woodrow Medal – 1

B Section / Premier B – GT Moore Medal – 1

D Section / Division 1 – LS Pepper Medal – 1

Division 2 / E Section – J Fullerton Medal – 1

F Section / Division 3 – O.J. Meehan Medal – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2011 Jarrod Egglestone Division 2 29
1996 Jason M. Reddick B Section 18
1992 Paul P. Matton A Section 15
1983 A.K. White* D Section 18
1981 A.K. White F Section 14

Therry Penola to play Ricky Bannister Cup

Posted on - Therry Penola OB, Latest News, Featured

Therry Penola will take part in the annual Ricky Bannister Cup clash against Yar...read more

Peverill to coach Lions in 2019

Posted on - Therry Penola OB, Latest News, Featured

Therry Penola is pleased to announce that Damien Peverill will coach the club in...read more

Rioli, Lions roaring in pre-season

Posted on - Therry Penola OB, Latest News, Featured

Nick Armistead - @NickArmistead Three weeks into his senior coaching role wit...read more

Therry sign ex-AFL star as senior coach

Posted on - Therry Penola OB, Latest News, Featured

By Damien Ractliffe THERRY Penola is excited to announce that former Essendon...read more

Therry join Fev for 2017 Ricky Bannister Cup

Posted on - Therry Penola OB, Latest News, Featured

Some of Therry Penola's finest will join forces with Brendan Fevola for the Ric...read more

Lions and Bombers set to meet in Division 1 blockbuster

Posted on - Pegs, Therry Penola OB, Latest News, Division 1 Men's, Featured

By Damien Ractliffe As the Premier grades enjoy a bye entering the last month o...read more

Therry Penola to play Ricky Bannister Cup for charity

Posted on - Therry Penola OB, Latest News, Featured

Therry Penola AFC will face off with Yarrawonga FC in the 'Ricky Bannister Cup' ...read more

Premier C Preview

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Monash Blues, Oakleigh AFC, Old Camberwell, Old Haileybury, Old Ivanhoe, Pegs, Peninsula OB, Therry Penola OB, Williamstown CYMS, Latest News, Premier C Men's, Featured

James Ried @JamesRied9 2015 says goodbye to four combatants and welcomes as ma...read more


Posted on - Therry Penola OB

It's on again. VAFA Premier C club Therry Penola are taking on the Yarrawonga Pi...read more