Tigers return to William Buck Premier

Posted on - Latest News, Premier B Men's, Featured

St Bedes/Mentone Tigers will return to William Buck Premier in 2017 after they booked a Premier B Grand Final spot with a 27-point win against Beaumaris.

Trailing by 10 points at half time, the Tigers pulled ahead with four goals to two in the third, before unleashing a seven-goal fourth-quarter barrage at Trevor Barker Oval.

Fresh off being named in the Premier B Team of the Year, Michael Barnes registered three goals and took his season tally to 42. Erishmiilan Uthayakumar also kicked three for the Tigers, while Johnny Cayhan and Simon Richards starred from the outset.

Stephen Milne was at his roving best for the Sharks as he bagged five of his side’s nine goals, but they will now face the winner of tomorrow’s elimination final between Old Scotch and Monash Blues.

The Tigers will return to the VAFA’s top section after falling out at the end of the 2014 season.