VAFA Wilson Women’s undergoes restructure for 2019 season

Posted on - Women's, Premier, Premier B, Premier C, DIV 1, DIV 2, DIV 3, DIV 4, Latest News, Featured

The VAFA Wilson women’s competition will undergo a restructure in 2019 and align with the men’s seven senior sections.

With eight clubs entering for the first time and a total of 16 additional teams, including seniors and reserves, the women’s competition will comprise of William Buck Premier, Premier B, Premier C and Divisions 1 – 4.

Clubs in the top three premier sections will field seniors and reserves teams, while Divisions 1 – 4 will be standalone senior sides.

The William Buck Premier fixture was released in December 2018 with the announcement of two new teams, St Mary’s Salesian and West Brunswick. They join reigning premiers Melbourne Uni WFC, Marcellin, Old Trinity, SKOB Saints, Fitzroy-ACU and Kew.

After competing in Premier B (Blue) in 2018, Monash Blues, Old Geelong, Collegians and Old Camberwell form half of this year’s Premier B competition alongside Old Xaverians, Caulfield Grammarians, La Trobe University and RMIT WFA. Xavs and Caulfield both come from William Buck Premier, while La Trobe will play their first year in the VAFA after making the move from the NFNL over the off-season. The recently-formed RMIT have announced they will field two teams in their first season following an influx of talent over recent weeks and will debut in the VAFA’s second-ranked section.

Premier C will be made up of three sides that had seniors and reserves outfits last year while four clubs will be fielding a second team for the first time. Brunswick Renegades and Mazenod finished seventh and eighth in Premier B (Blue) last season, while South Melbourne Districts fielded their two sides in Division 1 and Division 3, respectively. 2018 Division 1 finalists St Bedes/Mentone Tigers will make the jump to the two-team competition alongside Old Melburnians, Canterbury and Yarra Old Grammarians, and North Brunswick will emulate RMIT by fielding two sides in their debut season.

Seven of the eight teams in Division 1 played finals in their respective sections last year, while Old Mentonians were the only side to finish outside the four in fifth spot in Premier B (White). Old Haileybury will enter favourites after claiming the Premier B (White) flag, defeating Old Brighton, Old Scotch and Beaumaris along the way. Hawthorn AFC has won two consecutive premierships, while Ivanhoe AFC were Division 1 minor premiers and faced off against the Hawks in the decider. Williamstown CYMS make up the eight after impressing and finishing in the top four of Division 2 last year.

Division 2, Division 3 and Division 4 will feature new teams St Bernard’s, Albert Park, Parkdale Vultures, Richmond Central and Glen Eira but will be finalised and released shortly.

See the full list of sections below:

William Buck Premier

  • Fitzroy-ACU
  • Kew FC
  • Marcellin
  • Melbourne University WFC
  • Old Trinity
  • SKOB Saints
  • St Mary’s Salesian
  • West Brunswick

Premier B

  • Caulfield Grammarians
  • Collegians
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash Blues
  • Old Camberwell
  • Old Geelong
  • Old Xaverians

Premier C

  • Brunswick Renegades
  • Canterbury
  • Mazenod
  • North Brunswick
  • Old Melburnians
  • St Bedes/Mentone Tigers
  • South Melbourne Districts
  • Yarra Valley Old Grammarians

Division 1

  • Beaumaris
  • Hawthorn AFC
  • Ivanhoe AFC
  • Old Brighton
  • Old Haileybury
  • Old Mentonians
  • Old Scotch
  • Williamstown CYMS

Division 2, Division 3 & Division 4 to be finalised and released shortly.