2019 Division 2 Women’s Team of the Year

Posted on - Women's, Division 2 Women's, Latest News, Featured
FB April Tarollo (TP) Alexandra Veal (OIG) Kacie Cook (CYs)
HB Nicole Deev (OC) Emma Westgarth (TP) Elizabeth Chan (CYs)
C Sophie Matthys (AQ) Clare Fernandes (WF) Lisa-Marie McCombs (PH)
HF Peta Glaister (CYs) Kiera Lansdown (OC) Bridget Costello (TP)
FF Shannon Egan (CYs) Cecilia Baldassarre (OIG) Lauren Spark (WG)
FOLL Tess Abbott (WG) Eliza German (TP) – VC Iliara Akers (WF) – C
I/C Tash Reeve (OIG) Georgie Abery (OC) Monique Elliot (AQ)
Victoria Pettit (WG)
COACH Gareth Henderson (TP)

The Division 2 Women’s Team of the Year has been announced with both Therry Penola and Williamstown CYMS boasting four representatives each.

The two grand final sides were standouts in 2019 with both finishing the home and away fixture with more than 200%. Premiership coach Gareth Henderson was rewarded for his leadership, as was Therry’s Eliza German who was named vice-captain to Whitefriars star Ilaria Akers.

Akers’ teammate and Division 2 Best & Fairest winner, Clare Fernandes, was named in the midfield alongside Akers, German and Westbourne’s star ruck Tess Abbott.

The top 10 vote-getters all found themselves in the team as did the top four goal kickers Cece Baldassarre, Kiera Lansdown, Bridgett Costello and Lauren Spark.

Coaches were given the opportunity to nominate their own players for consideration while also choosing players from opposition teams. This, in conjunction with VAFA Media nominations, formed a more rounded selection committee.