2019 Division 4 Men’s Team of the Year

Posted on - Latest News, Division 4 Men's, Featured
FB Sage Optiz (SM) Declan Barlow (SMD) Nathanial Welsh (SFX)
HB Matthew Decarne (Mas) Tyson Cattle (AP) Andy Castles (LTU)
C Jake Lacriarde (BHN) Daniel Chin (SFX) – VC Anthony Morabito (Mas)
HF Stephen Richards-Gill (SFX) Julian Yeatman (EAFC) – C Thomas Wilson (AP)
FF Joshua Beets (AP) Harrison Coe (SFX) Marcus Baxter (EP)
FOLL Matt Ogle (LTU) Kyle Vander Pluym (EAFC) Jason Clifford (SMD)
I/C Josh Balon (EP) Rowan Lawrence (BHN) Bailey Zimmerman (LTU)
Jesiah McGarvie (EP)
COACH David Jenkins (AP)

The Division 4 Team of the Year has been announced with both St Francis Xavier and Albert Park boasting for representatives each.

Oj Meehan Medallist, Daniel Chin, and leading goal kicker, Harrison Coe, lead an all star X-Men cast alongside Nathanial Welsh and Stephen Richards-Gill, while the Falcon’s senior coach David Jenkins was rewarded after lifting Albert Park to the grand final following a string of disappointing results over the past few years.

Coe, Julian Yeatman, Marcus Baxter, Josh Beets and Richards-Gill were the top goal kickers in Division 4 this season while Thomas Wilson kicked 37 and was named in the best 12 times in a standout season for the Falcons.

The selection process for all sections changed this year with coaches given the opportunity to nominate their own players for consideration while also choosing players from opposition teams. This, in conjunction with VAFA Media nominations, formed a more rounded selection committee.