Big V senior squad released

Posted on - Representative Football, Latest News, Premier, Premier B, Featured

Nick Armistead

The Big V senior squad has been released ahead of the VAFA’s blockbuster clash with AFL Victoria Country on July 13 at Ikon Park.

45 players have been selected from William Buck Premier and Premier B with St Kevin’s OB the most of any club with seven; including star forward Jarrad Waite and first-time squad member Conor Ross. University Blues, Old Brighton and Old Melburnians each have five representatives.

13 of the 22 who represented the Big V against the Adelaide Footy League last year have been named again, while exciting news will be announced in the lead-up to this year’s match with a new captain to be appointed as star Big V and Collegians forward George Burbury travels overseas.

The Big V last played the Country two years ago at Frankston City Oval and ran out 82-point winners under the guidance of senior coach Stu Powell, giving this year’s clash an extra layer of importance as they look to reclaim the Brian Moloney Cup.

Player availability was considered by the selection panel when naming the squad.

Sam Hibbins Collegians
Corey Cassidy Collegians
Viv Michie Collegians
Ben Darrou Collegians
Hugh Nicholson De La Salle
Tom Humphrey De La Salle
Jake Williams De La Salle
Antony Forato De La Salle
Harry Hill Old Brighton
Elliot Le Grice Old Brighton
Nick Pavlou Old Brighton
Tom Fisher Old Brighton
Will Lewis Old Brighton
Sam Crocker Old Carey
Marc Lock Old Carey
Sam Cust Old Carey
Henry Schade Old Carey
Tom Paule Old Melburnians
Gus Borthwick Old Melburnians
Josh Freezer Old Melburnians
Andrew Tashevski-Beckwith Old Melburnians
Tom Cameron Old Melburnians
Charlie Cormack Old Scotch
Gabe Hamilton Old Trinity
Harry Thompson Old Trinity
Austin Hodge Old Trinity
Jason Holmes Old Xaverians
Jordan Kelly Old Xaverians
Chris Margin Old Xaverians
Tom Gilbert Old Xaverians
Connor Riley St Bernard’s
Michael Caven St Bernard’s
Gerard Gleeson St Kevin’s OB
Nick Wood St Kevin’s OB
Sam Critchley St Kevin’s OB
Will Coates St Kevin’s OB
Jarrad Waite St Kevin’s OB
Conor Ross St Kevin’s OB
Mitch Brown St Kevin’s OB
Tom Swift University Blacks
Tom Quinn University Blues
Josh Green University Blues
Cam O’Shea University Blues
Connor Lappin University Blues
Marshall Rippon University Blues