Both Cobras convert, Bloods take out Snakes

Posted on - Latest News, Division 3 Men's, Featured

Alisha Min

Canterbury have notched win number seven for the year after besting North Brunswick by 52 points at Canterbury Sportsground. Charging out the gates with four majors, followed by another three in the second quarter, the Cobras were poised for victory early and held a 27-point margin at the major break. Continuing to build their score in the latter half, thanks to four majors to Nathan Hicks and three to Martin Astbury, the Canterbury side snagged an additional eight goals to put the result beyond doubt. Four individuals contributed to the Bulls 51-point total for the afternoon, including three from Dominick Lo Presti and one to their side’s best, Andrew Ramzy. Thomas Lowden and Rohan Walmsley were standouts for the Cobras in what was their first win since Round 10.

Aquinas remain one of the teams to beat in Division 3, particularly following their 70-point victory over Richmond Central in Round 16. After an evenly matched opening term, where both sides slotted two goals apiece, the Bloods went on to outscore the Snakes 12 goals to two in the remaining three quarters – a credit to Billy O’Loughlin (4) and Michael Di Donato’s (3) combined seven goals. Cameron Spence was the only multiple goal-scorer for the Richmond side, dobbing two for the afternoon, while teammate Jared Goldsack was deemed best. With a string of contributors, Anthony Mattioli (2) topped the Aquinas’ list as man of the match.

Setting the tone early, Manningham Cobras were unassailable in their clash against Emmaus St Leo’s – taking the match by  52 points at Koonung Reserve. Holding the Animals scoreless in the first quarter, the men from Manningham stretched a 17-point lead at the first change of ends, which further extended to 21 points at the half. Despite Emmaus’ best efforts, particularly from milestone player, Michael Davis (200 games), and Harrison Davis (1), the Cobras’ momentum continued as Kane Maghamez (4) and Jake Cawsey (4) kicked a collective eight goals, and Michael Muller was deemed best.