Roys create history, claim Premier C flag

Posted on - Latest News, Premier C, Featured

Nick Armistead – @NickArmistead

History was made today when Fitzroy Football Club won its first senior flag since the club merged in 2008, defeating Old Geelong by 70 points at Trevor Barker Oval. It was the first flag for the Reds since 2005 and first for the Old Fitzroy since 1944, with loyal supporters travelling to Sandringham in droves.

The Roys were incredible in the first term and kicked eight unanswered goals before the OGs hit back with four goals to one in the second. Leading by 28 points at the main break, the Roys piled on another seven goals to one in the second half.

First year senior coach, Luke Mahoney, delivered one of the all-time three-quarter-time speeches as he invoked the history of the club and had the entire crowd roaring ahead of the fourth term. Former captain, Rory Angiolella, was named best afield days after being selected as the Premier C Team of the Year skipper and received the Michael Ritterman Medal, while Nathan Jumeau (4) and Sonny Brazier (3) kicked seven goals between them.

OGs were battered and bruised by the end of the match, with 17 players on the ground at times throughout the fourth term. Donald Nicolson continued his outstanding individual form for OGs and was named their best player, while Tom Balcombe, Will Sloss, Jono Simpson and Jack Sheridan all fought bravely until the final siren.

It was an incredible display from OGs to make today’s grand final after they defeated Old Camberwell and Williamstown CYMS en route to the decider. They will now enter Premier B for the first time since 1958 after coming up from Division 1 with the flag in 2016.

Michael Ritterman Medal: Rory Angiolella (Fitzroy)

Earlier in the day, the Roys commenced proceedings with a nine-point victory over OGs in the reserves. Leading by 20 points at three quarter time, the Roys were faced with a valiant OGs outfit who kicked three goals to one in the fourth but couldn’t quite manage to edge past their opponents. Cailean Moore and William Fenton were outstanding for the Roys, while Antonio Tripodi broke the mould of winners taking home the BOG medals with a best-on-ground performance for OGs. Both sides were standouts in 2018 as they finished first and second at the conclusion of the home and away season.

BOG Medal: Antonio Tripodi (Old Geelong)

Photo: Fitzroy FC