Posted on - Latest News

Victoria, led by courageous and creative skipper Tom O’Sullivan, beat WA by 26 points at Sportscover Arena. The diminutive midfielder from Caulfield Grammarians was a midfield general, directing traffic and winning many contested balls in the clinches. 
Under cloudy skies but otherwise splendid conditions other than a slippery centre square, the Vics looked dangerous early and threatened to put the visitors away before half-time. But their radar was uncallibrated and they missed opportunities.  
However, they straightened up and with twin sharpshooters Max van den Broek and Jackson Eade kicking six apiece, the Big V midfielders always had options going forward. At the other end of the ground, the fast-leading and long kicking Ben Grace was a lively focal point for the visitors. WA skipper Luke Conca was in everything, but the Big V ruck combination of Tom Penberthy and Nick de Steiger were dominant at the stoppages and around the ground, setting up opportunities for the smaller fleet.
The third term decided the game and from there the Big V was largely untroubled except for a late and spirited fightback from the Sandgropers in the final term, which had the coaching staff, if not the Victorian players, chewing their nails.
The result had seemed assured at lemon time, but WA added four on end in quick time early in the last and suddenly the game seemed to suit their style of play. But Alex Singleton grabbed a strong pack mark, played on and slotted it from twenty metres to ensure the reigning AAFC champion won the game.
As is the custom of long-standing, it was a hard-fought and highly skilful contest, though hostilities ceased with the final siren as players shook hands with opponents and headed to the post-match to mingle.
VICTORIA                                 5.5      7.13      13.15       17.16.118
WESTERN AUSTRALIA:           4.2        6.4           9.7           14.8.92
Goals: VIC: J Eade 6, M van den Broek 6, P Ambrose, J Nicolopoulos, T Penberthy, A Singleton, P Edgar WA: B Grace 4, L Conca 2, J Grierson 2, A Walker, J del Borrello, L O’Connor, B Sneeuwjagt, T McNamara, R Rohizat
Best: VIC: T O’Sullivan, L Ferguson, J Eade, B Walsh, N de Steiger, M van den Broek. WA: B Grace, L Conca, J Guidi, J del Borrello, R D’alton, R Rohizat
See the full game video here See game photographs here