Posted on - Latest News

The VAFA has led the way with 11 players selected from the recent AFL Victoria Metropolitan Championships carnival to be a part of the metropolitan squad that will take on AFL Victoria Country in July. AFL Victoria have released their 43 man squad combining players from the six Melbourne metropolitan competitions that played in the pre-season metro champs. 
The VAFA was rewarded with the most players given they ended up as champions on the day having defeated the Eastern FL in the match of the top two ranked competitions. 
The Metro squad will face a representative side from WorkSafe AFL Victoria Country on Saturday July 12.

The selection panel of head coach Brian Royal, and assistants Scott West, Michael Ford, Sean Millane and Steve Teakel have settled on the 43-man squad that includes players from all six leagues that competed in the Metro Championships.

The VAFA had eleven players chosen in the initial line-up, followed by Eastern FL with nine, Northern FL (eight), Essendon District FL (seven), Western Region FL (five) and Southern FL (three)

The list includes the six medal winners from the Metro Championships in Murphy Ambrose (VAFA) Simon Taylor (Eastern), Jonathon Morris (Essendon), Ryan Jackson (Northern), Lee Spiteri (Western) and Damien Rayson (Southern).

The squad will eventually be trimmed to 25 with the selection panel acknowledging some players will be unavailable or injured.
See the full squad below.