St Bernard’s claim 2015 William Buck Premiership

Posted on - Premier Men's, Latest News, Featured, Finals, Old Trinity, St Bernards

St Bernard’s have been named 2015 William Buck Premier champions after they defeated a valiant Old Trinity by eight points at IKON Park.

In front thousands of vocal fans, St Bernard’s shot out to a 16-point lead by half time, with clean ball use and six goals between Chad Jones and Alex Boyse the main point of difference.

However, and as they have done all season, the T’s came out of half time firing, kicking five straight goals during the third and leading by six points going into the final quarter. Seb Nicolosi and Ed Weatherson stood tall for the T’s, kicking eight goals between them for the match and leading the second half charge.

Heading into a mouth-watering final term, it was end-to-end football, with neither side giving an inch. Such was the intensity, OT star Luther Juric popped his own dislocated shoulder back into its socket and ran out the game as hard as any player on the ground.

A five-goal to two final term saw the Snowdogs hit the lead and hold on to claim their third Premier section grand final in the club’s history.

Mitch Hannan was named Jock Nelson medallist as the best player on the ground for his outstanding performance, while Boyse finished the game with four majors to his name.

Andrew Kyriacopoulos and Gabe Hamilton ran amuck for OT, while Ned Hunt through his weight around with a number of crunching tackles throughout the day.

It was a seesaw battle between the two best sides this season and what unfolded will be remembered for years to come as one of the greatest William Buck Premier grand finals ever seen.