William Buck Premier Coaches MVP Round 12 update

Posted on - Latest News, Premier Men's, Featured

The initial six rounds of voting were released last night and notable poller from season’s passed, Tom Humphrey of De La Salle, sat on 32 and six votes ahead of St Bernard’s Tom Sullivan and a number of stars on 23 votes.

Fast forward six weeks to Round 12 and Collegians’ ruckman Tom Penberthy has soared to the front of the pack with 39 votes of a possible 60 taking him to 53. Penberthy hit his straps for the Lions and polled a perfect 10 against Old Carey in Round 8, as well as a nine, a seven and two sixes along the way.

Over that period of matches, Uni Blacks’ skipper Bede Mahon led from the front and polled 31 votes to take outright second from four players who are each on 36; Will Coates (SKOB), Jake Williams (DLS), Tom Humphrey (DLS) and Tom Sullivan.

Old Melburnians ruckman Nick De Steiger continued his outstanding start to the season in seventh, edging out Nick Wynne (OX), Will Tardif (Coll) and Jeremy Mugavin (Blues) who are each in the remaining top 10 spots.

With six rounds of voting to go, Penberthy’s lead is comfortable without being unattainable in the back third of the season. Stay tuned as we bring you the Round 15 update before announcing the winner at the Woodrow Medal and VAFA Awards Night.

Player Club Votes
1 Tom Penberthy Collegians 53
2 Bede Mahon Uni Blacks 40
=3 William Coates SKOB 36
=3 Jake Williams De La Salle 36
=3 Tom Humphrey De La Salle 36
=3 Tom Sullivan St. Bernards 36
7 Nick De Steiger Old Melburnians 33
8 Nick Wynne Old Xaverians 32
9 Will Tardiff Collegians 31
10 Jeremy Mugavin Uni Blues 30