12 club volunteers receive VAFA Certificate of Merit at Season Launch

Posted on - Latest News, Featured

12 Club volunteers were rewarded for their outstanding service with a Certificate of Merit at Wednesday night’s VAFA Sportscover Season Launch at the MCG.

The VAFA congratulates each volunteer for their tireless dedication to their clubs and Association.

Steve Aarons (Ormond): Joining Ormond during the 1980’s golden era, Steve Aarons soon after turned his attention to club umpiring in the reserves. Such is his passion, Steve will be entering his 31st season of umpiring in 2017. During his time at Ormond, Steve served on the committee for nine years and has taken on a variety of roles assisting senior coaches, including taking statistics, managing rotations and assisting line coaches. He is a Life Member of the Brown and Blue.

Anthony Bortolotto (Marcellin): Anthony Bortolotto joined Marcellin Old Collegians in 1975 and tasted immediate success with a B Grade premiership in 1976. Since retiring due to injury, Anthony joined the committee where he has served for 40 years in a variety of roles, including; Social secretary, Football Operations Manager and Game Day Coordinator of match volunteers. He has kept time and managed the bar on Thursday nights and post-match on a Saturday.

James Gray (Monash Blues): James Gray joined Monash Blues as an U19s player in 1994 and currently assists as the Vice-President, Team Manager and Club Historian, among many other roles. He was made a Life Member of the Blues.

Angus Hamilton (West Brunswick): Angus Hamilton joined West Brunswick Amateur Football Club after a playing career at both University Blacks and Blues. He played 108 games for the black and white, and when he retired from the field joined the club’s committee as Football Operations. He was senior assistant coach for three years before taking the reigns as senior coach for the past five years including consecutive premierships in 2014 & 15. He was inducted as a Life Member of West Brunswick in 2013 and named VAFA Senior Coach of the Year two years ago.

Terry Landrigan (Old Xaverians & Old Melburnians): Terry Landrigan has volunteered 28 years of service to both Old Xaverians, Old Melburnians and the VAFA. Terry spent eight years as timekeeper, interchange steward and as Club goal umpire. In collaboration with the VAFA, Terry created all club player records for the in the pre-automated era and sold the Amateur Footballer on behalf of the club. He’s been the Seniors and Reserves Team Manager at both clubs and is still currently in the role after three years at the Xavs.

Russell Lucas (Prahran Assumption): Since first pulling on the Commonwealth Bank jumper almost 30 years ago, Russell Lucas, has been involved with the club now known as Prahran Assumption. He was on the committee and Treasurer of Southbank prior to its amalgamation with Prahran, and has since been involved as Treasurer and Team Manager, where he will be entering his 13th year in 2017. His ongoing commitment has reaped six Best Clubman awards after first winning it in 1990.

Afrim Odza (Box Hill North):  Afrim Odza is a 400-game stalwart of Box Hill North after joining the club 24 years ago. He is a three-time Best and Fairest winner, captained the Demons for six years and coached the reserves for two. More recently, Afrim has taken the reigns as President as the club aims to regroup in Club XVIII and work their way to senior VAFA football.

Shaun Payze (Peninsula): Shaun Payze is a 355-game stalwart of Peninsula Old Boys over 19 seasons. His playing career has been littered with accolades, including; six Best & Fairest Awards, five Runner-Ups, six Grand Final appearances, 11 Club Goal Kicking Awards and the 2005 Division 2 Fullerton Medal on the back of 102 goals. He captained the Pirates for a record nine years and was Treasurer for five.

Domenic Perrone (Brunswick NOBSPC): Domenic Perrone joined the Brunswick NOBS committee in 1986 and spent three years as Treasurer from 1988. In 1993 he was named Vice President for three years before taking the Presidency until 1999. He was Team Manager in 1995 while coaching and was also named Best Clubman in the same year. He is currently Brunswick Mudlarks Treasurer and Junior Coach, a Life Member and now a VAFA Certificate of Merit recipient.

Phil Vawdrey (SBMT): Phil Vawdrey joined St Bedes/Mentone Tigers in 2001 and has served on the committee for 16 years. He was Junior President from 2008 to 2011 and named Best Clubman in 2010. He offered his services as Club Bar Manager and Thursday Night Cooking Coordinator for five years, while being Team Manager and Goal Umpire for the Tigers’ U19s and reserves.

Cameron Voss (Hampton Rovers): Since 1999, Cameron Voss has undertaken a variety of roles for his beloved Hampton Rovers, including IT technician, website designer and player registerer. He has collated game and goal statistics since 2003, overseen the construction of the new digital scoreboard and has received both the Best Junior Clubman & Senior Clubman awards. Cameron is a Life Member of the Rovers.

Gerard Biddlestone (Therry Penola): Gerard Biddlestone joined the Therry Penola family in 1980 as a player, notching 255 games across seniors, reserves, Club XVIII and U19s. He represented Therry in 23 finals and he was named Club Champion in 1987. Since retirement, Gerard has served in many roles including Vice-President, Club Umpire, and most recently Club President from 2010-2016.