First-ever VAFA Women’s Big V squad released

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Women's News

The first-ever Women’s Big V squad has been released ahead of the VAFA’s July 9 clash against AFL Goldfields in North Ballarat.

In a groundbreaking event for the VAFA and its newest players, 61 women have been selected from 30 clubs. Eight clubs have three representatives and 22 of the 61 hail from the women’s Premier section – the most of any.

Old Trinity lead the way with four representatives, while Caulfield Grammarians, Fitzroy-ACU, Marcellin, Old Camberwell, Old Geelong, Old Haileybury, Old Xaverians and SKOB Saints each have three.

The selected women will meet on June 14 for the first time under new coach John Kanis and the final 24 will be selected prior to the July 9 clash after a number of training sessions.

The VAFA congratulates all players who have earnt selection and look forward to seeing them create history for the Big V.

All players and their club secretaries will receive an email shortly with details.

Player Club
Ally Bild AJAX
Maya Glikfeld AJAX
Phillipa Atkins Beaumaris
Sasha Long Beaumaris
Monica Gray Brunswick Renegades
Amelia Phipps Brunswick Renegades
Grace Buchan Caulfield Gr.
Irena Malliaras Caulfield Gr.
Millie Klingbeil Caulfiled Gr.
Anna Coldham Collegians
Christine Nancarrow Collegians
Carle Rooks De La Salle
Claudia Bell Fitzroy-ACU
Gemma Minuz Fitzroy-ACU
Tash Ross-Harris Fitzroy-ACU
Sarah Cleary Hampton Rovers
Amy Cullen Hampton Rovers
Alana Sarec Hawthorn AFC
Magdelene Antypas Marcellin
Natellie MacDonald Marcellin
Tessa Zagontinos Marcellin
Jennifer Vissenjoux Mazenod
Taylor Hunt Melbourne University
Hannah O’Brien Monash Blues
Shannen Bethune Oakleigh
Steph Wood Oakleigh
Stephanie Defina Old Camberwell
Eloise Defina Old Camberwell
Rhiannon Green Old Camberwell
Kirra Tevelein Old Carey
Libby Graham Old Geelong
Annabelle Scott Old Geelong
Annabelle Shannon Old Geelong
Sarah Casey Old Haileybury
Mietta McDonald Old Haileybury
Mim Waterman Old Haileybury
Monique Maitland Old Mentonians
Laura Caruana Old Trinity
Georgia Fleiter Old Trinity
Claire Messent Old Trinity
Vanessa Murphy Old Trinity
Emily Archer Old Xavs
Riley Christgeorgl Old Xavs
Gabby Golds Old Xavs
Kate McQueen Ormond
Cassie Pittard Ormond
Sarah Cameron SKOB Saints
Bree Doyle SKOB Saints
Eliza Straford SKOB Saints
Alana Milich South Melb Dist
Kate Dempsey St Bedes/Mentone Tigers
Meghann Geschke St Bedes/Mentone Tigers
Lisa Davie St Marys Salesian
Tash Rappos St Marys Salesian
Bree Murphy Swinburne
Eliza German Therry Penola
Maddy Hince UHS
Mara Mc Sweeney UHS
Erin McLaughlin West Brunswick
Bridie Walsh West Brunswick
Lyss Blewonski Yarra OG’s