Ross-Harris crowned first-ever William Buck Premier Best & Fairest

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Fitzroy, Women's News

Fitzroy-ACU ruckman, Tash Ross-Harris, was crowned the first-ever William Buck Premier Women’s Best & Fairest winner last night at the 2017 VAFA Wilson Women’s Awards Night at The Park, Albert Park.

Ross-Harris, who also donned the inaugural Big V against AFL Goldfields in July, polled 27 votes from her 12 games this season; including, seven 3’s in the first 10 games and eight for the year.

Old Trinity star and Big V captain, Claire Messent, finished second on 18 votes after starting the year on fire with four BOG’s in the first five weeks, while Caulfield Grammarians’ Irena Malliaras led for the first three grading games and finished equal-third with Marcellin’s Taylor Padfield on 16. Padfield excelled in the back half of the season with three consecutive three-vote games between Rounds 11 and 13.

SKOB Saints pair, Eliza Straford and Sarah Cameron, rounded out the top six with 15 votes apiece, with one or the other polling the three votes in eight of the Saints’ 14 games. The Saints had the highest number of individual vote-getters with 16 polling at least once.

The VAFA congratulates Tash on an outstanding season and thanks all those who attended last night’s presentation. We now look forward to this weekend’s five women’s grand finals.

See below for a full list of votes:

Tash Ross-Harris Fitzroy FC 27
Claire Messent Old Trinity 18
Irena Malliaras Caulfield Grammarians 16
Taylor Padfield Marcellin OC 16
Sarah Cameron St Kevins 15
Eliza Straford St Kevins 15
Emily Archer Old Xaverians 14
Abbie McNamara Marcellin OC 11
Grace Buchan Caulfield Grammarians 10
Gemma Minuz Fitzroy FC 10
Georgia Cropley St Kevins 9
Kelly Dungate Brunswick Renegades 8
Millie Klingbeil Caulfield Grammarians 8
Gabrielle Golds Old Xaverians 8
Ruby Condon Fitzroy FC 7
Erin Gogerly Fitzroy FC 7
Natalie MacDonald Marcellin OC 7
Vicky Tan Melbourne University 7
Amy Dumas Caulfield Grammarians 6
Clare Woodhouse Brunswick Renegades 5
Lucy Aitken Old Trinity 5
Breanna Doyle St Kevins 5
Samantha Viti St Kevins 5
Annabel Watson Fitzroy FC 4
Lorraine Jaffer Melbourne University 4
Imogen Barnett Old Trinity 4
Grace Dillon Old Trinity 4
Lily Mulcahy Old Trinity 4
Jodie-Lee Pirak-Murphy Old Trinity 4
Riley Christgoergl Old Xaverians 4
Ruby Lucas Old Xaverians 4
Madison Sorrenti Old Xaverians 4
Melissa Backhouse Brunswick Renegades 3
Niamh Moynihan Brunswick Renegades 3
Grace Beasley Caulfield Grammarians 3
Hillary Grubb Fitzroy FC 3
Alexa Madden Fitzroy FC 3
Magdelene Antypas Marcellin OC 3
Claudia Piva Marcellin OC 3
Ebony Clark Melbourne University 3
Lauren Phillips Melbourne University 3
Lily Lachal Old Trinity 3
Lauren Sanft Old Trinity 3
Audrey Rhodes Old Xaverians 3
Alexandra Hynes St Kevins 3
Lauren Palombi Brunswick Renegades 2
Amelia Phipps Brunswick Renegades 2
Brooke Robinson Brunswick Renegades 2
Kate Sullivan Brunswick Renegades 2
Hannah Fosbrooke Fitzroy FC 2
Jackie Greaves Marcellin OC 2
Georgina Robertson Marcellin OC 2
Laura Robertson Marcellin OC 2
Eliza Roughead Marcellin OC 2
Angie Wang-Hartman Marcellin OC 2
Sarah Catterwell Melbourne University 2
Lauren Munday Melbourne University 2
Kobi van Rossum Melbourne University 2
Ruby Anderson Old Trinity 2
Eliza Brebner Griffin St Kevins 2
Chloe Brown St Kevins 2
Georgi Conlan St Kevins 2
Ellie McLinden St Kevins 2
Isabella Rapson-Staropoli St Kevins 2
Elizabeth Wardlaw St Kevins 2
Monica Gray Brunswick Renegades 1
Hannah Musil Brunswick Renegades 1
Felicity Smith Brunswick Renegades 1
Julia Cowell Caulfield Grammarians 1
Alexandra Monacella Fitzroy FC 1
Georgina Steggall Fitzroy FC 1
Brianne Keogh Marcellin OC 1
Alana Pane Marcellin OC 1
Ebony Spencer Marcellin OC 1
Brittni Donaldson Melbourne University 1
Femke Russell Melbourne University 1
Stephanie Bull Old Trinity 1
Vanessa Murphy Old Trinity 1
Melissa Victoria Poulton Old Trinity 1
Scarlett Dunell St Kevins 1
Georgie Lupson St Kevins 1
Catherine McBeth Jephcott St Kevins 1
Sophie Straford St Kevins 1


*Feature photo: Fitzroy Football Club