Thirds Grand Final Reviews

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Finals

Tash Gunawardana


Caulfield Grammarians are the 2019 Thirds Division 1 Premiers after they beat De La Salle by 39 points at Box Hill City oval. It was a complete four quarter performance from the Grammarians, as they led from start to finish capped off with a five-goal final quarter blitz. From the opening bounce, the Grammarians were a team on a mission jumping out of the blocks with three goals and allowing De La to kick only three behinds. The second quarter was closer between the two sides with a goal each kicked. The Fields went to sleep in the after the main break with no goals and held to three behinds, as De La kicked the only major of the third quarter. Heading into the final quarter, it was anybody’s match for the taking with 13 points in favour of the Fields. De La were able to stick with the Grammarians till the final quarter when they had a last term fadeout.  The win was led by Matt Ball who kicked four goals, and Harrison Mills was the BOG for the Fields. Only managing three goals for the entire match, De La’s Jack Hanley was adjudged best afield with his one goal.


Hawthorn were a class above Old Xaverians winning by 35 points at Whitefriars College oval to take out the Thirds Division 2 Premiership. The Hawks will be pleased with their 2019 Thirds Division 2 season, as they topped their minor premiership with silverware too. Old Xavs inaccuracy in front of goal let them down, as they only registered five goals and 10 behinds, and if it was not for their wayward kicking, they could have been closer. Hawthorn led at every change. The standout quarter in the match from the Hawks was the third term where they booted through six goals straight to the Old Xaverians 1.4. With this dominant third term, the Old Xaverians were deflated down by 43 points making it hard for them to mount a comeback in the final term. In the last quarter, Old Xavs made the scoreboard look a bit more respectful winning the quarter 3.3 to the Hawks 2.1. Antonio Brizzi was the main key target up forward for the Hawks with four goals. Best on ground honours was awarded to Mohammed Dabab of the Hawks.


Williamstown CYMS ended up being too strong for fellow ladder leaders St Johns OC, winning by 19 points at Trevor Barker oval. In what was a low scoring grand final affair, seven goals were kicked between the two sides. The Jocks were held to only two goals for the whole match, with their kicking at goal letting them down with eight behinds. The Jocs were only able to break through with their first goal in the last term when they kicked two goals via Corey Ely and Matthew De Poilly. Christopher Curran was the only multiple goal scorer for the CY’s, with two with his teammates Zachary Read, Beau Coyle and James Farley kicking a goal apiece. Ely was the BOG for St Johns and CY’s best on ground honours went to Farley.


A consistent four quarter effort from St Mary’s Salesian has helped them secure the 2019 Thirds Division 4 Grand Final Premiership by 33 points over minor premiers, Kew, at Whitefriars College. The Saints came out all guns blazing in the opening term with three goals, while keeping the Bears to four behinds. In the second quarter, the Bears were finally able to break through with their first major, but the Saints still managed their control in the match adding another three goals. The second half was a tighter contest between the two sides. with the Saints only outscoring the Bears by a solitary goal. Nick Baxter was the standout forward for the Saints with three majors. Saints’ Ben Peschke was adjudged best afield honours. For the Bears, Chad Watts was the only multiple goal kicker with two to his name. Bronson Paech was the best player for Kew.