A Toast to the Most in the Woodrow Medal Count

Posted on - Latest News, Featured

The VAFA congratulates Harry Hill (Old Brighton) and Fergus Borthwick (Old Melburnians) on claiming the 2022 Woodrow Medal with 20 votes each.

In a thrilling finish to the vote count, Hill and Borthwick were tied going into round 18 with Old Brighton facing Old Melburnians in the final home and away round of the season. A game Borthwick missed with a knee injury.

Hill was unable to extract any votes from the umpires on the day and therefore shares this years Woodrow with one of his midfield enemies in Borthwick.

Borthwick played 17 games this season with Old Melburnians and was named amongst the best players nine times. He was an unstoppable force at times throughout the year pairing up with OM’s ruckman Nick De Steiger to surge the ball out of the centre at every opportunity.

Borthwick is a known vote-getter. Ironically, he was in the same spot going into the last game played 12 months ago. In the abandoned season of 2021, he led the count going into the final round, before finishing third behind Marcus Stavrou (Old Xaverians) and Dave Mirra (Collegians).

Hill led Old Brighton with distinction right the way through 2022. Unfortunately for the Tonners as a team, the campaign ended with runner up medallions on Sunday, falling to the might of St Kevin’s. From an individual perspective Hill played every game (21) named amongst the best 17 times and kicked 16 goals for the season. He topped the league for total disposals (588), and handballs (287).

A previous winner of the GT Moore Medal (Premier B best and fairest) in 2017, Hill becomes the first player to represent Old Brighton and win the Woodrow Medal. Borthwick, becomes the first man from Old Melburnians since Peter D. O’Brien in 1996 who claimed the award with 18 votes.

In William Buck Premier Women’s, Dakota Villiva (Kew) took home the honour from rising star nominee Tahlia Meier (Melbourne Uni) and goal kicking machine Sarah Cameron (St Kevin’s). Villiva put together a near perfect year in her debut season with Kew being named in the best players 14 times from 17 games. It came as a significant surprise to Villiva to receive the award expecting either one of her teammates or opposition players to run over the top of in the latter part of the season.

To support Villiva throughout the year from Kew, Samara David and Lily Barr polled highly and sit amongst the top 10.

The VAFA also extends its congratulations to Clare Konstanty (Glen Eira) on being awarded the Anytime Fitness Women’s Rising Star. And, Luke Winter (St Kevins), the men’s rising star from 2022.

To all award winners from Premier B – Division 4 Men’s, Premier B – Division 3 Women’s, the Holmesglen Under 19 sections, Under 23’s, Mecwacare Masters, and our umpires. As well as the leading goalkickers for each section respectively, congratulations.

For the first time since 2019, it was a privilege to come together for one final time in 2022, in front of over 350 people and celebrate an uninterrupted year on the field. And, award winners in front of teammates, coaches, family and friends.

Women’s Best and Fairest Votes

Men’s Senior Best and Fairest Votes

Under 19s Men’s Best and Fairest Votes