• https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/385907282_806828187907503_2076955961283440284_n.jpeg

Joined VAFA: 1960

Section: Premier B

Current years in section: 1

Nickname: Wells/Wellers

Ground: Lower Oval, Gordon Barnard Reserve, Balwyn Road, North Balwyn.

Women’s/Under 19/Thirds: As Above or Upper Oval

Colours: Navy with blue V yoke/ – white number; shorts – navy; socks – navy & light blue hoops.

Secretary: James Smith M: 0438 140 140 E: [email protected]

President: Gavin Powell M: 0419 336 086  E: [email protected]

Old Camberwell Grammarians commenced in E Section in 1960, but after 11 fruitless years in E, the Wells were relegated to the relatively new F Section for the 1972 season. It was to be a blessing because in their 12th season in the VAFA, Old Camberwell broke through to win their first senior flag. Earning promotion via a runners-up finish in E Section in the following year, the Wells were on their first upward climb through the grades of the VAFA. Further premiership success followed in 1978 (D Section) and 1982 (C Section). Unfortunately their climb to B Section only lasted a season and it would be another 26 years before they would reach these heights again. During this time the club managed a further two senior flags in 1993 (E Section) and 2001 (Division 1). Significantly Old Camberwell were one of the dominant underage teams of the new century, seemingly winning under 19 premierships at will. Their C Section flag in 2007 allowed the club to return to B Section; however, despite hanging on for an extra season, the Wells were back in C Section where they continue to build for the next flag today. In 2017, the Wells entered a team in Development Division 2 of the VAFA women’s competition and were far and away the most dominant side, claiming the flag with Rhiannon Green taking out both the Best & Fairest and the BOG awards.


Seniors Women’s Reserves Thirds U19s Club XVIII
6 1 2 8 1
Premier C / C Section: 1982, 2007 Development Division 2: 2017 U19 (2): 1992, 2006
Division 1 / D Section: 1978, 2001 U19 (3): 2002
Division 2 / E Section: 1993 U19 (North/Section 5): 2009, 2017
Division 3 / F Section: 1972 U19 (Red): 1999-2001


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior

C Section / Premier C – LS Zachariah Medal – 2

D Section / Division 1 – LS Pepper Medal – 1

E Section / Division 2 – J Fullerton Medal – 3

Year Name Section Votes
2017 Benjamin Hart Premier C 15
1993 G.W. Ewart E Section
1982 I.T. Rogers C Section
1974 R. Mullet D Section 16
1965 K.A. Wood E Section 27
1962 K.A. Wood E Section 25


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Women’s

Premier B – 1

Development Division 2: 1

Year Name Section Votes
2019 Eloise Defina Premier B 14
2017 Rhiannon Green Development Division 2 25

Wellers, Hawks claim first-ever VAFA Wilson Women’s flags

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn, Women's News, Old Camberwell

Old Camberwell capped off an outstanding season as Development Division 2 premie...read more

Vale Michael Sigalas

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Eley Park Sharks, Old Camberwell

The VAFA extends its deepest sympathies to the family and friends of Michael Sig...read more

Premier C Preview

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Premier C Men's, Marcellin OC, Monash Blues, Oakleigh AFC, Old Camberwell, Old Haileybury, Old Ivanhoe, Old Peninsula, PEGS, Therry Penola, Williamstown CYMS

James Ried @JamesRied9 2015 says goodbye to four combatants and welcomes as ma...read more