• https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/hawthorn-final.jpg

Joined VAFA: 1995

Section: Division 3

Years in Section: 3

Nickname: Hawks

Ground: Rathmines Road Reserve, Rathmines Road, Hawthorn East. MAP0421 045 087

Women’s/Under 19/Club XVIII: As above.

Colours: Brown & gold stripes/ gold panel – brown number; shorts – brown; socks – brown and gold hoops

Secretary: Matthew Tanis M: 0407 279 834 E: [email protected]

President: Sam Waldron M: 0438 183 616 E: [email protected]

The Hawthorn Amateur Football Club was reformed in 1995 after the Hawthorn Citizens folded due to lack of players in 1989. A number of past Hawthorn Citz players consisting of Ed Sill, Rod Lord, Jamie Law, Bob Lovich, Steve Timewell and Glen Stallworthy started the Hawthorn Amateurs with one team in 1995. Numbers and support quickly grew and the Reserves team was formed in 1997. 1998 would be a landmark year for the Hawks as they won their first and only senior flag in the VAFA in F Section. They grew to three teams with the inception of the Spartans Club XVIII side in 2011 which has seen recent success in 2013 and 2015 while boasting three competition best & fairest wins. In 2017, the Club entered a fourth team in the inaugural VAFA women’s competition and claimed the first-ever Development Division 4 premiership before becoming the first team to go back-to-back with a Division 1 flag in 2018.


Seniors Women’s Reserves U19s Thirds/Club XVIII
1 2 2 5
Division 2: 2019
Division 1: 2018 Division 3: 2018 Section 4: 2018
F Section: 1998 Development Division 4: 2017 Division 4: 2014 Club XVIII (2): 2013, Club XVIII (1): 2015, 2016


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior

Year Name Medal Votes
2018 Justin Raiti Division 3 34
2013 David Tremewen Division 4 28
2009 Matthew Collins Division 3
2008 Richard Ogge Division 3
2005 Dan Lauletta Division 4
1998 Phillip R. Avery* F Section


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Women’s

Year Name Medal Votes
2017 Penny Brown* Development Division 4 20


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Club XVIII

Year Name Medal Votes
2017 John Farah Club XVIII (1) 23
2016 John Farah Club XVIII (1) 19
1995 Paul Barker Club XVIII (North)

*denotes premiership season

Punchy leads host of recommitted VAFA coaches

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Caulfield Grammarians, Fitzroy, Hawthorn, Old Scotch, Old Xaverians, Power House

Caulfield Grammarians’ incredible 2021 form is set to continue after the club ...read more

VAFA Clubs come together for ‘Wellbeing in Community Sport’ Panel Discussion

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn, Kew, University Blacks

Three VAFA clubs are coming together on Monday night for an important panel disc...read more

Hawthorn AFC reappoint fab 5 for 2021

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn, Women's News

Hawthorn AFC have locked in five coaches ahead of 2021, with David Knight (Men�...read more

Knight appointed Hawthorn AFC coach

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn

Hawthorn AFC ‘Hawthorn Amateur Football Club is delighted to announce David...read more

Footballers join cricketers as Hawks hit mental health awareness for six

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn

Nick Armistead Hawthorn Amateur Football Club continued their outstanding com...read more

No. 2: Thomas Bowler (Hawthorn AFC)

Posted on - Featured Videos, Hawthorn

 No. 2 | A 67m ROOST from Hawthorn Amateur Football Club's Thomas Bowler h...read more

Hawthorn AFC week-long focus on mental health awareness

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn

For the ninth consecutive year, Hawthorn AFC is promoting mental health awarenes...read more

Wellers, Hawks claim first-ever VAFA Wilson Women’s flags

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn, Women's News, Old Camberwell

Old Camberwell capped off an outstanding season as Development Division 2 premie...read more

VAFA Top 40 Best Bits: 20-11

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn, La Trobe University, Old Melburnians, Old Peninsula, Old Trinity, Old Xaverians, Preston Bullants, Wattle Park, Westbourne Grammarians

2016 played host to numerous highlights throughout the VAFA and we’ve endeavou...read more