• https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/382609567_804025451521110_8070177882896926923_n.jpeg
  • https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/357704113_756459309611058_6816759707175955905_n.jpeg

Joined VAFA: 1892

Section: Premier

Current Years in Section: 16

Nickname: Lions

Ground: Harry Trott Oval, Village Green Drive, Albert Park. 9525 4209.

Women’s/Under 19/Thirds: As above.

Colours: Purple with gold monogram & trim/ – gold number; shorts – purple; socks – purple and gold.

Secretary: Andrew Kenneally E: [email protected] M: 0499 490 580

President: Andrew Kenneally E: [email protected] M: 0499 490 580

Collegians Football Club is the oldest club in Amateur football; indeed, it is older than the VAFA and is the only founding Club of the M.J.F.A./V.A.F.A. still in existence. In 1891, L.A. Adamson established an Old Boys’ XVIII. In the following year, the club formally became Collegians Football Club.

L.A.Adamson, who was for 30 years the Headmaster of Wesley College, was the President of the Club for its first 40 years. In 1892, Adamson established the Metropolitan Junior Football Association (later becoming the VAFA in 1932) and he was President of the Association for 37 years. The ‘A’ Section, now Premier Grand Final Cup is known as the ‘L.A. Adamson’ Cup.

Collegians are the most successful VAFA club in terms of the number of premierships won in the top tier of the VAFA. Although six of these premierships were won before the First World War when there was only one section. Since the introduction of multiple sections with promotion and relegation the Lions have managed a further 11 premierships in A Section/ Premier. Their total of 20 senior premierships has them sharing top spot with University Blacks.

Collegians entered a team in the first year of women’s football in the VAFA in 2017 and followed it up with a seniors and reserves team in 2018.


Seniors Women’s Reserves Thirds U19s Club XVIII
20 2 7 3
1892, 1896, 1898, 1899,1902 and 1904 (all in one section only)A Section/Premier: 1936-37, 1957-59, 1961, 1986,1992-1993, 2011-2012 U19 (2): 2017
B Section: 1926, 1956, 2006 U19 (3): 2012 & 2016


Competition Best and Fairest Winners

A Section / Premier – JN Woodrow Medal – 7

B Section / Premier B – GT Moore Medal – 4

Year Name Medal Votes
1995 Christian Davidson A Section
1990 Matthew Galbraith A Section
1981 Mark Hibbins B Section 20
1980 Mark Hibbins B Section 18
1974 Phillip Pryor B Section 18
1973 Phillip Pryor B Section 21
1961 Geoff W. Hibbins A Section 36.5
1958 Geoff W. Hibbins A Section 18
1951 Geoff W. Hibbins A Section
1938 Clarrie Vontom A Section
1927 Keith E. Rigg A Section


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Junior

U19 (2): G.W. McTaggart Medal – 1

Year Name Medal Votes
2017 Tristan Van Driel Section 2 17