Tutt named 2017 Premier Coaches MVP

Posted on - De La Salle, Latest News, Premier Men's, Featured

Jason Tutt has completed an outstanding first season in the VAFA by taking out the 2017 Premier Coaches MVP Award at last night’s Woodrow Medal & VAFA Awards Night.

Tutt, who played 40 AFL games for Carlton and the Western Bulldogs between 2010-2016, polled 70 votes to claim the award ahead of 2015 winner Ross Young (Blues) and St Kevin’s midfielder Gerard Gleeson on 65 each.

Old Melburnians skipper Thomas Paule came in fourth spot on 63 votes while three-time runner-up Tom Humphrey (DLS) came fifth with 54.

Tutt, who provided elite run and carry from De La’s defence and played a leading hand in their finals appearance, polled the maximum 10 votes just twice throughout the year but consistency was the key as the star defender polled in 12 of the 16 games he played.

St Kevin’s midfielder Nick Wood shot out to the front in the first four rounds on 26 votes before going down with injury. Tutt took the lead after polling eight votes in Round 8 and never lost the mantle, sitting atop the leader board for the last 10 weeks of the year.

Tutt follows in the footsteps of previous winners, Tom Penberthy (Coll), Young and Harry Tinney (Trinity).

Leader Board: 

Jason Tutt (DLS) 70
Gerard Gleeson (SKOB) 65
Ross Young (Blues) 65
Thomas Paule (OM) 63
Tom Humphrey (DLS) 54
Lachlan Sullivan (SKOB) 49
Mitch Brown (SKOB) 49
Courtney Hylton (Coll) 44
Tim Gaeppen (Blues) 39
Kenny Ong (Coll) 36
Kieran Harper (Blues) 36
Anthony Scott (OT) 35
Rob Cathcart (Beau) 33
Viv Michie (Coll) 33
Brendan Iezzi (OT) 33
Connor Lappin (Blues) 31
Matt Handley (OX) 31
Nick Wood (SKOB) 31
Scott Braithwaite (Beau) 31