William Buck Premier Women’s Team of the Year

Posted on - Women's, Premier Women's, Latest News, Featured

Nick Armistead

FB Sarah Yule (SMS) Ellie McLinden (SKOB) Steph Comelli (MUWFC)
HB Alana Pane (Marc) Yolanda Jones (WB) – VC Lily Barr (Kew)
C Mel Lindsay (WB) Vanessa Murphy (OT) – C Isabelle Harding (Kew)
HF Steph Lawrence (SMS) Sarah Cameron (SKOB) Grace MacPherson (WB)
FF Margaret Gleeson (SKOB) Shaylee Taylor (Marc) Grace Dillon (OT)
RUCK Imogen Barnett (OT) Bree Doyle (SKOB) Teresa Zampaglione (Fitz)
I/C Alexandra Hynes (SKOB) Rachel Gill (SMS) Tash Ross-Harris (Fitz)
Laura Robertson (Marc)
COACH Tom Purcell (SKOB)

The first-ever William Buck Premier Women’s Team of the Year has been announced with 2019 premiers SKOB Saints boasting the highest number of selections with five.

Ellie McLinden, Sarah Cameron, Margaret Gleeson, Bree Doyle and Ally Hynes have all been named from SKOB, with Hynes only starting on the bench due to William Buck Premier Best & Fairest winner Imogen Barnett (Old Trinity) claiming the ruck position.

Barnett’s star teammate and Premier Coaches MVP, Vanessa Murphy, has been named captain of the inaugural side alongside West Brunswick’s Yolanda Jones who has been selected as vice-captain.

While she only played eight games for the season, Tash Ross-Harris (Fitzroy-ACU) was selected after polling in the top 10 of the Best & Fairest count and being named best in each of her eight games.

Successful SKOB coach Tom Purcell has been named leader of the squad after guiding the Saints to this year’s flag.

The selection process for all sections changed this year with coaches given the opportunity to nominate their own players for consideration while also choosing players from opposition teams. This, in conjunction with VAFA Media nominations, formed a more rounded selection committee.