Hawthorn AFC & St Francis Xavier crowned 2015 Club XVIII Premiers

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Thirds, Finals

Club XVIII Section 1 and 2 premiers were crowned yesterday, with Hawthorn Amateur Football Club (1) and St Francis Xavier (2) winning their respective grand finals.

Hawthorn reversed last year’s grand final result with a 36-point hard-fought victory against Old Xaverians in the Section 1 decider. Leading at every break throughout the match, Hawthorn refused to ease up as they held the Crocs to a scoreless last term, while sending through two more goals of their own. Ex-Hawthorn FC player Angelo Lekkas starred for the Spartans, throwing his weight and experience around on his way to the King/Landrigan medal for best on ground.

The league’s leading goal kicker and best and fairest awards were also presented at the post-match ceremony, with John Farah of Hawthorn winning the goal kicking and Matthew Walsh of Old Xaverians voted the league’s best player for 2015.

Earlier in the day, St Francis were able to complete an unbeaten season as they defeated Melbourne High School Old Boys by 71 points at Sportscover Arena. Following a tightly contested first quarter, in which only one goal was kicked between both sides, St Francis put the foot down and kicked 14 of the next 19 goals of the match. Christopher Hughes was awarded the best on ground medallion for his leading role in the win, while Dustin Johnstone kicked three goals for the premiers.

As with Section 1, the medal ceremony also celebrated the achievements of Albert Park’s Beau Coyle who won the league leading goal kicker award, as well as the league best and fairest.