Humphrey leads William Buck Premier Coaches MVP after Round 6

Posted on - Latest News, Premier Men's, Featured, Coaches

The William Buck Premier Coaches MVP Award was introduced in 2014 and the award immediately resonated with the VAFA community. Harry Tinney from Old Trinity won the inaugural award and returned last year with Ross Young of University Blues completing the double and taking it out alongside his joint Woodrow Medal.

Over the past season, the votes have been coming in thick and fast from our coaches and the winner will be announced at Wednesday night’s Woodrow Medal and VAFA Awards Night at Crown Casino’s River Room. Over the next two days we will release the tallies of Rounds 6, 12 & 15 to give you an idea as to who may take out the coveted award.

Each week the William Buck Premier coaches send through their votes on a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis from their game on the weekend. Votes can be awarded to players from both sides with the voting emphasis to be on who was the most valuable player on the ground.

With both coaches voting in one match, the most a player can get is 10 votes (2 x 5).

After Round 6, De La Salle’s Tom Humphrey leads the charge with 32 votes and six ahead of Tom Sullivan in second. Humphrey received a perfect 10 in De La’s Round 5 win against Old Melburnians and nine for his standout performance against Collegians in Round 3. He is a proven poller after finishing second in 2014.

Sullivan was an early favourite but fear set in when he rolled his ankle in the Big V representative match against the SAAFL in June. However, the star onballer recovered well and should push at the end of the season.

Nick Wynne (OX), Nick De Steiger (OM) and Hugh Vickers-Willis (Blues) are tied for third on 23 votes, while Andrew Kyriacopoulos sits in sixth after polling 16 votes in the first two round of the season.

Stay tuned as we bring you the Round 12 and 15 updates prior to announcing the winner on Wednesday night.


Club Votes
1 Tom Humphrey De La Salle 32
2 Tom Sullivan St. Bernard’s 26
=3 Nick Wynne Old Xaverians 23
=3 Nick De Steiger Old Melburnians 23
=3 Hugh Vickers-Willis Uni Blues 23
6 Andrew Kyriacopolous Old Trinity 20
=7 Jeremy Mugavin Uni Blues 18
=7 Will Tardiff Collegians 18
9 Matthew Handley Old Xaverians 17
10 Jack Osborn Old Trinity 16