Bombers, Vultures, Bloods taste premiership glory

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Division 1 Men's, Division 3 Men's, Division 4 Men's

Division 1

PEGS have soared home from more than eight goals down against St Mary’s Salesian and claimed the Division 1 flag at Box Hill City Oval. After the Saints kicked eight unanswered goals in the first term, the Bombers gradually clawed their way back into the match and eventually hit the lead in the fourth, running out 13-point winners. Ruckman Robert Baddeley’s form over the finals series has been outstanding and he once again led from the front during the Bombers’ comeback and was rewarded with the J.W. Manton Medal for his efforts.  Trent Skurrie top-scored with three goals for the Bombers while Adrian Romanyk, Hugh Schiavello, Thomas Black and Jackson Young kicked two each. Luke Dykes and Manny Dolan each kicked four goals for the Saints while Tim Dudgeon starred as he has done all year.

J.W. Manton Medal: Robert Baddeley (PEGS)

Division 3

UHS-VU proved too strong for Power House in the Division 3 decider at Sportscover Arena, running out 21-point winners. Led by four goals and a best-on-ground display from Brandon Jackson, the Vultures kicked out to a 27-point lead at the first break and kept the House at an arm’s length for the remainder of match. Goal kicking supremo Mitch Sweeney registered three for the Vultures, while Joseph Turner was outstanding. Darren Baker fought valiantly for the House and both Patrick Healey and Nick Nagel snagged three goals. The Vultures’ win ended an extended run in the VAFA third Division, claiming their first senior premiership since 2007. Both sides will now enter Division 2 for the 2018 season.

VB Zanin Medal: Brandon Jackson (UHS-VU)

Division 4

One year after suffering relegation from Division 3, Aquinas have bounced back in sensational style by taking out the Division 4 premiership with a 25-point victory over Manningham Cobras. Leading by just two points at the half time break and seven at three quarter time, the Bloods launched into action with five goals to two in a match-winning fourth term. Nick Morrison-Storey was outstanding for the Bloods and backed up his impressive performance in the OJ Meehan Medal with a best-on-ground display. Sam Williams kicked his third consecutive bag of five, none bigger than today’s, while first-year coach Ashley Naulty was dominant. Kane Maghamez, Michael Muller and Michael Parkes each kicked two goals for the Cobras. They were sensational in the second half of the year with nine consecutive wins prior to today and will threaten when promoted to Division next year.

A.K. White Medal: Nick Morrison-Storey