2019 Premier B Team of the Year

Posted on - Latest News, Premier B Men's, Featured
FB Kye Beveridge (SBMT) Max Ellis (Fitz) Lewis Diggins (Beau)
CHB Tate Short (CG) Charlie Cormack (OS) James Paul (OH)
C James Sansom (OS) Will Edwards (CG) – VC Harley Balic (PV)
CHF Chris Grigoriadis (Beau) Lachlan Treverton (OH) Josh Cowan (SBMT)
FF Tom Downie (OS) Julian Dobosz (CG) Daniel McCullough (UB)
RUCK Josh Steadman (UB) – C Jarrod Carlson (UB) Andrew Jelbart (OS)
I/C Tom Swift (UB) Macgregor Cameron (MB) John Simson (OG)
Jack Wallace (CG)
COACH Simon Williams (CG)

The top three sides in Premier B have dominated this year’s Team of the Year, with Caulfield (5), Old Scotch (4) and University Blacks (4) making up 13 of the 23 available positions.

The 2019 premiers boast players in each third of the ground, with Tate Short in defence, Will Edwards through the midfield and leading goal kicker Julian Dobosz at full-forward. Simon Williams was named the side’s coach for his outstanding performance leading the Fields to the flag and back into William Buck Premier for the first time since 2012.

Blacks captain Josh Steadman has been named captain on the back of his outstanding individual year where he finished runner-up in the GT Moore Medal and after captaining the successful B-D4 Big V side in Perth, while his Big V assistant Will Edwards has been named vice.

10 players represented the Big V against the Perth FL this year; including, Charlie Cormack, Tate Short, James Sansom, Will Edwards, Josh Cowan, Lachland Treverton, Andrew Jelbart, Josh Steadman, John Simson and Jack Wallace. A further five have played representative football in previous years.

The selection process for all sections changed this year with coaches given the opportunity to nominate their own players for consideration while also choosing players from opposition teams. This, in conjunction with scribe and VAFA Media nominations, formed a more rounded selection committee.