The Sharks get a much needed win as La Trobe and St Johns prove too good

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Division 4 Men's

Billy Bolch

Round 9 in Division 4 saw matches won comfortably and one that went down to the wire. The round sets us up for an incredibly exciting next round whilst illustrating the chance to play finals footy is anyones for the taking. 

Box Hill North took on La Trobe in what was going to be an uphill battle for the Demons. La Trobe proved why they were the best in the competition as they got off to the best possible start kicking 6 unanswered goals and ended the first quarter with a 40-point lead. The second quarter saw the Demons lift their defensive intent only allowing two goals from La Trobe for the quarter to take their lead out to 55 points at the main break. 

It was a much more evenly balanced second half with the Demons going toe-to-toe with their more fancied opponent. The damage of the first term was the writing on the wall for the afternoon as La Trobe’s lead was one that couldn’t be brought back, coming off the ground winners by 56 points, a lead that could have been larger if it weren’t for inaccurate kicking. 

The best for the Demons include Beau Parthenides, Rowan Lawrence & Peter Cassidy-Marsh. La Trobe’s best were Thomas Whelan, Tyler Cosa and Samuel Benetti-Baker. Lachlan Gawley-Price was the only multiple goal scorer for the Dees with 2 majors whilst La Trobe’s goals came through Riley Alexander (3), Patrick Lindsay (2), Tate Spiteri (2), Liam Walsh (2) and Bryce Dowler (2). 

Box Hill North will now have the bye in round 10 before hosting the in-form St Johns. La Trobe will host Eley Park who will be coming into this contest with newfound confidence. 

Round 9’s most important match saw St Johns host Albert Park in a match that could potentially set up the rest of the season. A JOCs win would further consolidate the top three whereas a Falcons win would put them right in the mix and open the season up again for the rest of the league. 

After an even first quarter, St John’s took the ascendancy in the second term kicking three unanswered goals to open up a 16-point lead at half time. The third saw the Falcons turn up their defence, replicating the three goals that St Johns kicked in the quarter. Going into the final quarter with the JOC’s 13 points up the match was anyone’s for the taking. St Johns was the team that took the game and ran away with the win kicking 5 unanswered goals and leaving with a 47-point win. 

The best for the JOC’s include Nicholas Terrill, Brendan Ash and Corey Ely. The best for the Falcons were Daniel Young, Mitchell Kingston & Jack Lee. Rohan Scott followed up his day out against Masala with five goals with other multiple goal scorers for St Johns being Benjamin Ayache (3) and Jason Naffa (3). Goal scorers for Albert Park include Nick Armistead, Alexander Evans and Brett Tottenham.

St Johns will now face a big task as they take on Swinburne in what could very well be a finals preview whilst Albert Park will host Masala in what is set to be a great match.

The final match of the round saw Eley Park seeking their second win of the year, take on Masala who were looking to significantly increase their finals chances. The match started incredibly even with the majority of the game being spent in the midfield, but it was Masala that held a 1-point lead at quarter time. 

Eley Park would then take a big step in the second adding on four goals and take a 19-point lead into the major break. The third saw Masala lift their defence as they held the Sharks to a goal to bring the margin back within 11 points at the final change. 

The match was up for grabs and Eley Park wanted it more in front of their home crowd. 

Although the Tigers kicked 2 goals to the Sharks’ 1, it was Eley Park that held on as the game went right down to the final minutes by 6 points. The victory gives the Sharks their second win and makes the race for fourth spot very interesting. 

Eley Park’s best were Matthew Carlile, Nicholas Whan and Daniel O’Shea. The best for the Tigers were Luke Decarne, Christian Samuel and Dale Gibb. Shark Tom Johnston led the goal scoring with 4 whilst other contributors for the Sharks were Drew Crawford (2), Ben Field (1) and Shannon Blewitt. Masala’s goal kickers included Luke Decarne (2), Adam Lariccia (1), Tom Williamson (1), Jake Dunkley (1), Cameron Young (1) and Dale Gibb (1).

Eley Park will now face La Trobe away in what will be another test for the Sharks. Masala will travel down to Albert Park to take on the Falcons in what is a must win for the Tigers.

Swinburne who had the bye will return in a big match against St Johns in what could be a preview of the division’s finals.