• https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/POWERHOUSE-1.jpg

Joined VAFA: 1940 / 1947

Men’s Section: Division 3

Years in Section: 2

Ground: Ross Gregory Oval, Village Green Drive, Albert Park

Under 19/Club XVIII: As above

Colours: Black, White, Green panels, black. White numbers, shorts and socks Green

Secretary: Lara Cartwright M: 0484 239 041 E: [email protected]

President: Warde Elliott M: 0401 807 051 E: [email protected]

Power House first commenced in the VAFA in 1940, although the outbreak of World War Two saw that the season ended before it really go going. Whilst the VAFA resumed in 1946, it took Power House until 1947 to rejoin in C Section, however that first season was a poor one and Power House would be in the re-introduced D Section for the 1948 season. Despite the slow start, three of runners up finishes (D – 1950, C -1953 and B – 1956) had the club in A Section. Unfortunately the club fell back in successive seasons to C Section although this is where their first breakthrough occurred as Power House won the 1959 C Section premiership in a year they failed to lose a game and thus earned the title of champion team. Power House won the D Section premiership in 1971 but their next premiership was one of the more obscure premierships in VAFA history. The C Section Grand Final of 1973 was never actually played, despite this Power House were named premiers. Power House’s opponents for the day were to be Fairfield, but as Fairfield were found to have played an ineligible player they were withdrawn from competition for the year. It is one of the more obscure reunions as the team gets to celebrate their ‘premiership win’. A 29 year premiership drought was broken in 2000 when the club won the Division 3 flag, despite this Power House would fall again before winning the 2006 Division 4 premiership. More recently, the House ended a nine-year run in Division 3 by making the grand final against UHS-VU and, despite the loss, made the move up to Division 2. They entered their inaugural team in the VAFA Women’s competition in 2018 and finished fourth in Division 3.


Seniors Reserves U19s
5 2 1
Premier C / C Section: 1959, 1973
Division 1 / D Section: 1971
Division 3: 2000
Division 4: 2006

Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior

Premier C / C Section – LS Zachariah Medal – 1

Division 1 / D Section – LS Pepper Medal – 1

Division 3  – P Hutchinson Medal – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2010 David Burnside Division 3
1989 M.A. Stone D Section
1953 W.J. Hawes C Section

Round 10 Anytime Fitness Women’s Rising Star: Grace Read

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Power House

The VAFA congratulates Grace Read from Power House Amateur Football Club who...read more

Daniel Buckley inducted into life membership of Power House

Posted on - Latest News, Division 2 Men's, Power House

At the recent Presentation Night, current Club Secretary Daniel Buckley was in...read more

Jeff Scotland takes the reigns at Power House

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Division 3 Men's, Power House

Originally published by Power House AFC The Power House Football Club is plea...read more

Punchy leads host of recommitted VAFA coaches

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Caulfield Grammarians, Fitzroy, Hawthorn, Old Scotch, Old Xaverians, Power House

Caulfield Grammarians’ incredible 2021 form is set to continue after the club ...read more

Power House’s Pavlou named State Metro Volunteer of the Year

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Power House

Power House President Nic Pavlou has been named the State Metro Volunteer of th...read more

AFLW’s Duryea drops in to teach Power House women

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Women's News, Power House

Anna Pavlou - @Annalyst_Sports Former Ireland representative and current Mel...read more

Building a new House

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Women's News, Power House

Anna Pavlou - @Annalyst_Sports Power House was the perfect club for Eddie Ny...read more

Joyce, Nagel join Inner FM’s VAFA Footy Show

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Collegians, Power House

Collegians senior coach Shane Joyce and Power House goal kicking maestro Nick ...read more

Vale David ‘Fitzy’ Fitzpatrick

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Power House

The VAFA extends its deepest condolences to Power House AFC, and the family and ...read more

What the clubs said this week

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Oakleigh AFC, Old Brighton, Old Scotch, Old Trinity, Old Xaverians, Power House, St Mary’s Salesian

Old Scotch website following their 30-point win over Collegians Coming off ba...read more