• https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/307101152_5259775820797459_9034731774282959695_n.jpeg
  • https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/356266507_752232166700439_1241120639345687656_n.jpeg

Joined VAFA: 1970

Section: Division 3

Years in Section: 1

Ground: Main Oval La Trobe University, Kingsbury Drive (off Plenty Rd) Bundoora. 0439 556 733

Under 19/Club XVIII: As above

Colours: Black and red vert. stripes / – white number: shorts – black: socks – black

Secretary: Teresa D’Angelo M: 0416 105 272 E: [email protected]

President: Andrew Sutherland M: 0412 356 326 E: [email protected]

La Trobe University were admitted to the VAFA for the 1970 season. The following year with the re-introduction of F Section, the club split into La Trobe Blacks (who retained their place in E Section) and La Trobe Reds (who entered the competition in F Section. Blacks broke through for the club’s first senior flag in 1976 and whilst the Reds had some good individuals they were never able to break out of F Section. The club again pooled its resources in the 1980’s to become simply La Trobe University again. Success came at the end of the decade when the club won back to back premierships in F Section (1988) and E Section (1989). The club won another E Section flag in 1999 and continuing their history of a premiership every 10 years, La Trobe claimed the 2009 Division 4 flag. The club followed it up with the Division 3 premiership in 2010. 2018 proved to be a tough year for the club as they had no home ground due to redevelopment and were forced to play the majority of home games away from the university at Parade – they’d ultimately win just one game and suffer relegation to Division 4.


Seniors Reserves U19s Club XVIII
6 5 1
Division 2 / E Section: 1976*, 1989, 1999
Division 3 / F Section: 1988, 2010  Club XVIII (3): 2014
Division 4: 2009

*Won as La Trobe Blacks

Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior


Year Name Medal Votes
1989 Ian A. Wrigglesworth E Section
1988 D. A. Poole E Section
1974 D.N. Cowling⊗ F Section 21
1973 N.E. Harrison⊗ F Section

⊗ Won as La Trobe Reds

Celebrating the past as La Trobe look to brighter future

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, La Trobe University

La Trobe University Football Club kick-started their 2019 campaign with a throwb...read more

La Trobe University FC seek players

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, La Trobe University

La Trobe University AFC are seeking at least 15 more players for the 2018 season...read more

VAFA Top 40 Best Bits: 20-11

Posted on - Latest News, Featured, Hawthorn, La Trobe University, Old Melburnians, Old Peninsula, Old Trinity, Old Xaverians, Preston Bullants, Wattle Park, Westbourne Grammarians

2016 played host to numerous highlights throughout the VAFA and we’ve endeavou...read more