A reminder to all VAFA field umpires and supporters and clubs for that matter, that although there has been a change of interpretation at AFL level there is NO CHANGE in the VAFA.

See the video below for clarification of examples from last year.

This example, from the Hawthorn v Geelong match would not be paid in the VAFA. Bartel gains possession, thinks about handballing, goes one step, then has the ball knocked out by the tackle. In the VAFA we are still saying this is NOT enough to be considered prior opportunity. (see AFL Example: http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-04-06/bartel-sees-stars-in-final-seconds)


VAFA Statement
Posted February 24, 2024
SKOB Saints in the Top End
Posted February 9, 2024
2024 Division 3 Men’s Fixture
Posted February 9, 2024