• https://www.vafa.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Glen-Eira.jpg

Joined VAFA: 1999

Section: Division 2

Years in Section: 2

Nickname: Saints

Ground: Packer Reserve, Leila Road, Carnegie. (*68 J8). MAP 0413 419 352.

Under 19/Club XVIII: As above.

Colours: Black with Green, Blue, Gold, and Red V/Black – White numbers, shorts – black, socks – black

Secretary: David Walter E: [email protected]

President: Ivan Delac M: 0422 754 543  E: [email protected]

Glen Eira has one of the most colourful histories in the VAFA. An exploration of the club is like digging back through a family tree. Whilst the Glen Eira Saints of today were initiated in 1999, they came to be via an amalgamation of clubs that can be summarised as follows: Glen Huntly 1991-1998 (formerly Balaclava 1982-1990 and prior to that AMP Society 1963-1981); and St Kilda South Caulfield 1992-1998 (formerly St Kilda CBC Old Boys 1958-1991 who had merged with Murrumbeena South Caulfield from the YCW Football League in 1991).

So taking into account the clubs that played in the VAFA, the Glen Eira Saints have 9 senior premiership flags hanging in their club rooms. St Kilda CBC Old Boys can lay claim to four of them, the last of them the 1984 C Section premiership. Whilst the merged entity of St Kilda South Caulfield won the 1994 E Section premiership.

AMP Society had success at E Section twice, winning the senior flag in both 1968 and 1979. After their name change to Balaclava in time for the 1982 season, more E Section triumphs followed in 1984 and 1986.

Since the the Glen Eira Saints took over the mantle in 1999, they have managed to make three Grand Finals as a senior outfit, claiming the 2016 & 2018 Division 3 flags against Hawthorn AFC. Prior to the 2016 season commencing, Monash Gryphons shared playing resources with the Saints as they considered an amalgamation into the future while the Gryphons continued to field a team in Club XVIII. In 2017, they named their U19s Old McKinnon/Glen Eira as their players were predominantly McKinnon students. That team claimed the U19 Section 4 flag in 2018.


Seniors Women’s
Reserves U19s
11 1 5 3
Premier C / C Section: 1965⊕, 1975⊕, 1984⊕, 1994⊗ Division 4: 2019 Section 4: 2018
Division 1 / D Section: 1960⊕
Division 2 / E Section: 1958⊕, 1968*, 1979*, 1984ª, 1986ª
Division 3: 2016, 2018

⊗St Kilda South Caulfield
⊕St Kilda CBC OC
*AMP Society

Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior

Premier B / B Section – GT Moore Medal – 1

Premier C / C Section – LS Zachariah Medal – 5

Division 2 / E Section – J Fullerton Medal – 1

Division 3 – Hutchinson Medal – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2016 Julius Waras Carstensen° Division 3 29
2003 C. Massis° C Section
1989 B.I. Raffertyª C Section
1984 K.F. White⊕ C Section
1983 C. Capiron⊕ C Section
1981 K.F. White⊕ C Section 25
1974 R. Roulson* E Section 22
1967 Philip Hoy⊕ B Section 18

⊗St Kilda South Caulfield
⊕St Kilda CBC OC
*AMP Society
°Glen Eira

Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Women’s

Division 4 – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2019 Madison Lister Division 4 26

Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Junior

Section 2 – 1

U19 Section 4 – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2019 Jake Richardson Section 2 20
2017 Jesse Maxfield Section 4 26

Glen Eira lock in premiership coaching duo

Posted on - Glen Eira, Women's, Division 4 Women's, Latest News, Featured

Glen Eira FNC continued their push for additional silverware at Packer Reserve b...read more

Update: Monash Gryphons & Glen Eira

Posted on - Monash Gryphons, Glen Eira, Latest News, Featured

Glen Eira Saints and Monash Gryphons will continue to operate in their own entit...read more

Monash Gryphons & Glen Eira set to join forces in 2016

Posted on - Monash Gryphons, Glen Eira, Latest News, Featured

The VAFA has been advised Monash Gryphons AFC and Glen Eira AFC will join forces...read more

Glen Eira and Elsternwick denied by SMJFL clubs

Posted on - Elsternwick, Glen Eira

VAFA clubs Glen Eira and Elsternwick were both denied admission to the SMJFL to ...read more