• https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/375133872_790996402824015_5045796899666521357_n.jpeg
  • https://cdn-vafa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/348641828_983580109312581_3472150259903077006_n.jpeg

Joined VAFA: 1954

Section: Premier C

Years in Section: 1

Nickname: Panthers

Ground: Main Oval (Dunshea), Carey Sports Complex, Bulleen Road, Bulleen.

Women’s/Under 19/Thirds: As above.

Colours: Black, gold and royal V gold emblem/ black – gold number; shorts – black; socks – black.

Secretary: Sam Hassett E: [email protected] M: 0434 555 869

President: Michael Tarrant E: [email protected] M: 0416 012 181

Founded in 1953, Old Carey Grammarians joined the VAFA for the 1954 season and were initially slow to progress. However, by 1962 the club had their first premiership when they defeated Preston by 35 points in the E Section decider. By 1970 the club had progressed to B Section, albeit without further premiership success. The 70’s were somewhat of a golden period for the club with multiple state representatives, however the club was never able to take that next step. A dark period followed through the 1980s and early 1990s where the club almost folded. However the club held on and a second senior premiership in 1998 commenced the club’s strongest period to date. From being runners up in Division 2 in 2004, the Panthers won promotion (and two premierships) all the way to Premier Section in 2010 when they won the Premier B flag. In 2017, they entered a team into Development Division 2 of the VAFA women’s competition and won through to the grand final before going down to Old Camberwell. After two years in Premier B, the senior men’s re-entered William Buck Premier following a grand final appearance against St Bernard’s.


Seniors Women’s Reserves Thirds U19s Club XVIII
4 2 2 2
Premier B: 2010 S2: 2018 North: 2010
Division 1: 2006 S3: 2015 G Section: 1986
Division 2: 1961, 1998


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior

A Section / Premier – JN Woodrow Medal – 1

B Section / Premier B – GT Moore Medal – 2

D Section / Division 1 – LS Pepper Medal – 2

E Section / Division 2 – J Fullerton Medal – 2

Year Name Medal Votes
2012 Cameron Howat Premier 21
2006 Stephen Collins Division 1 23
2004 Allister Parton Division 2
1997 Nicolas Vasilopoulos E Section (East) 22
1980 W. B. Blair D Section 21
1972 Michael W. Birrell B Section
1971 Michael W. Birrell B Section  23