• https://www.vafa.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/Marcellin-Sheagles-2017-Premiers.jpg

Joined VAFA: 1971

Section: Premier C

Current years in section: 9

Nickname: The Eagles

Ground: Oval 1, Marcellin College, Bulleen Road, Bulleen. (*32 D9) 9850 5664.

Women’s/Under 19/Thirds: Oval 2, Marcellin College, Bulleen Road, Bulleen (*32 D9). CLUB XVIII: Bulleen Park, Bulleen Road, Bulleen. (*32 C9).

Colours: Maroon, gold and sky horiz. panels/ – gold number; shorts – maroon, socks – maroon

Secretary: Matt Frost M: 0437 741 221 E: [email protected]

President: Marcus Clayton M: 0429 352 570 E: [email protected]

Marcellin Old Collegians commenced their time in the VAFA with a bang. Winning a premiership in F Section in their first year in the Association, the club then followed that up with back-to-back runners-up finishes before saluting in the 1974 C Section Grand Final. Four grand finals in four years was a terrific start and the club had progress to B Section. It was to get better, after narrowly missing the B Section finals in 1975, Marcellin duly won the 1976 B Section premiership. Thus within the space of six seasons, the Eagles had climbed five sections to reach A grade in time for the 1977 season. Simply phenomenal. They hung on for five years before an up and down between B and A in the second half of the 80’s, including the 1985 B Section flag rounded out an impressive first two decades in the competition. The lull of the early 1990s preceded the next meteoric rise of Marcellin that was book-ended by back to back premierships in C (1997) and B (1998) Sections and the ultimate prize of an A Section title in 2001. This was a super era for Marcellin as they produced multiple competition best and fairest winners and state players. This included five seasons (1998-2002) in a row where a Marcellin player won the section best and fairest medal. Another B Section flag came in 2008 before a tough three years that included a back-to-back relegation to Premier C. In 2017, Marcellin entered a team in the inaugural season of VAFA Women’s and, after taking out one of the two available pre-season Lightning Premierships, the Sheagles went on to claim the first-ever William Buck Premier flag under the guidance of Women’s Coach of the Year, Tom Stafford.


Seniors Women’s Reserves Thirds U19s Club XVIII
7 2 2 4 2
Premier / A Section: 2001 Premier: 2017
B Section: 1976,1985, 1998, 2008 Premier Reserve: 2018
C Section: 1997
F Section: 1971


Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior Men’s

A Section / Premier – JN Woodrow Medal – 6

B Section / Premier B – GT Moore Medal – 1

C Section / Premier C – LS Zachariah Medal – 2

D Section / Division 1 – LS Pepper Medal – 1

F Section / Division 3 – P Hutchinson Medal – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2013 Jarrod Carlson* Premier C 19
2012 Jarrod Carlson Premier C 22
2005 Joel Rice A Section
2002 Bernard P. Dineen A Section 17
2001 Bernard P. Dineen A Section 27
2000 Glenn T. Cox A Section
1999 David Waters A Section 19
1998 Bernard P. Dineen B Section 23
1978 C.A. Price A Section
1973 P.J. Toohey D Section 21
1971 P.M. Gartner F Section 24

*Tied with Tim Bourbon (Mazenod OC)

Competition Best and Fairest Winners – Senior Women’s

Premier – 1

Year Name Section Votes
2018 Taylor Padfield Premier 20

William Buck VAFA Footy Flashback: 2017 Premier Women’s GF

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Women's, Featured Videos, Premier Women's, Latest News, Featured

It was an unbelievably successful first year of VAFA Women's footy, and it ...read more

Anytime Fitness Rising Star Nominee: Round 13

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Sponsors, Women's, Premier Women's, Latest News, Featured

The VAFA congratulates Marcellin's Amber Micallef on her nomination as the Round...read more

2018 Coaches of the Year named among host of VAFA award winners

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Old Geelong, Prahran Assumption, St Mary’s Salesian, Aquinas OC, UHS-VU, Women's, Latest News

Nick Bourke capped off a successful season at the helm of Old Geelong by taking ...read more

Eagles retain Cox for 2019

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Latest News, Featured

Marcellin has announced, Glenn Cox, will continue in his role as senior coach in...read more

Anytime Fitness Rising Star: Annaleise Xanthos

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Sponsors, Latest News, Featured

Huge congratulations to Marcellin winger, Annaleise Xanthos, who was named the R...read more

Four named 2017 VAFA Coaches of the Year

Posted on - Mazenod OC, Old Brighton, Marcellin OC, Pegs, Latest News, Featured

Nick Armistead - @NickArmistead Old Brighton senior coach, Greg Hutchison, ha...read more

Anytime Fitness Rising Star Nominee: Natalie McDonald

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Sponsors, Women's, Latest News, Featured

The VAFA congratulates Marcellin young gun & inaugural Big V women's represe...read more

Women’s Rising Star Nominee: Chiara Moretta

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Women's, Latest News, Featured

The VAFA congratulates the first-ever women's rising star nominee, Chiara Morett...read more

Vale Matthew Wilkins

Posted on - Marcellin OC, Latest News, Featured

The Victorian Amateur Football Association is saddened to hear of the sudden and...read more

ZEN Plays of the Week: Round 17

Posted on - Old Carey, Old Trinity, St Bernards, Hampton Rovers, Old Melburnians, St Bedes / Mentone Tigers, Marcellin OC, Peninsula OB, Sponsors, Commercial, Partners, Latest News, Featured

Goal saving tackles, brothers waxing and a number of incredible goals. It's al...read more